Analyzing The Beatles

Tomorrow Never Knows -The Beatles

Turn off your mind relax and float down stream

It is not dying, it is not dying

 

Lay down all thoughts, surrender to the void

It is shining, it is shining

 

Yet you may see the meaning of within

It is being, it is being

 

Love is all and love is everyone

It is knowing, it is knowing

 

And ignorance and hate mourn the dead

It is believing, it is believing

 

But listen to the colour of your dreams

It is not leaving, it is not leaving

 

So play the game “Existence” to the end

Of the beginning, of the beginning

 

In the song, Tomorrow Never Knows, by the Beatles, its meaning in the song wants the audience to understand that no one is going to know exactly what is going to happen tomorrow. The song shows emotions of stress, but then relief towards the end. The song kind of explains that mental health is important as you should relax and not worry about anything that is going on around you that is making you stressed. 

In the first stanza, they explain that you should clear your mind, relax, and float downstream. This will connect to the second stanza as they say that you should empty your mind and surrender in the empty space around you. 

Then, in the second to last stanza, it means that you should always follow your dreams because it’s not leaving unless you let it go. It will connect to the last stanza because it means that if you never give up you’ll always reach it. This song wants the audience to know that they should live in the moment and not worry about the past or the future. They should relax and focus on the goals and achieve them.

 

Getting Better -The Beatles

It’s getting better all the time

 

I used to get mad at my school (No, I can’t complain)

The teachers who taught me weren’t cool (No, I can’t complain)

You’re holding me down

Turning me round

Filling me up with your rules

 

I’ve got to admit it’s getting better (Better)

A little better all the time (It can’t get no worse)

I have to admit it’s getting better (Better)

It’s getting better

Since you’ve been mine

 

Me used to be angry young man

Me hiding me head in the sand

You gave me the word, I finally heard

I’m doing the best that I can

 

I’ve got to admit it’s getting better (Better)

A little better all the time (It can’t get no worse)

I have to admit it’s getting better (Better)

It’s getting better

Since you’ve been mine

 

Getting so much better all the time!

 

It’s getting better all the time

Better, better, better

It’s getting better all the time

Better, better, better

 

I used to be cruel to my woman

I beat her and kept her apart from the things that she loved

Man, I was mean but I’m changing my scene

And I’m doing the best that I can (ooh)

 

I admit it’s getting better (Better)

A little better all the time (It can’t get no worse)

Yes, I admit it’s getting better (Better)

It’s getting better

Since you’ve been mine

 

Getting so much better all the time!

 

It’s getting better all the time

Better, better, better

It’s getting better all the time

Better, better, better

 

Getting so much better all the time!

 

The song, Getting Better, by the Beatles is split into two sections, one section being optimistic and the other section being pessimistic. The songs shows that life can be hard when your a teen but it can only get better or it can’t get any worse. The section in the parentheses show a more pessimistic view of the song as they say, “It can’t get no worse” instead of “A little better.”

In the first three stanzas, it explains that the person didn’t enjoy going to school, but he couldn’t complain. They later admitted that it was getting better, but another view they put it as was that it couldn’t get any worse, so that’s why it was getting better. 

From the fourth stanza, to the last stanza, he admits that he was angry when he was young, but he was doing the best that he could and it was getting better because it couldn’t get any worse. He admitted that he treated his women poorly and he was trying to change but he was only doing the best that he could and things were getting better. 

This song explains how a person was in a dark place but he acknowledged that things were getting better but the only reason they were getting better was because it couldn’t get any worse. This showed that he tried to be optimistic, but in the back of his head, he really felt that things could not get any worse so that’s why they were getting better. Toward the end of the song, he showed that he was really trying to grow and that his younger self was a person he didn’t want to be anymore. 

 

Help -The Beatles

Help, I need somebody

Help, not just anybody

Help, you know I need someone, help

 

When I was younger, so much younger than today

I never needed anybody’s help in any way

But now these days are gone, I’m not so self assured

Now I find I’ve changed my mind and opened up the doors

 

Help me if you can, I’m feeling down

And I do appreciate you being round

Help me get my feet back on the ground

Won’t you please, please help me

 

And now my life has changed in oh so many ways

My independence seems to vanish in the haze

But every now and then I feel so insecure

I know that I just need you like I’ve never done before

 

Help me if you can, I’m feeling down

And I do appreciate you being round

Help me get my feet back on the ground

Won’t you please, please help me

 

When I was younger, so much younger than today

I never needed anybody’s help in any way

But now these days are gone, I’m not so self assured

Now I find I’ve changed my mind and opened up the doors

 

Help me if you can, I’m feeling down

And I do appreciate you being round

Help me get my feet back on the ground

Won’t you please, please help me, help me, help me, oh

 

The song, Help, by the Beatles is someone calling in desperate need of help. They explained that when they were younger, they didn’t need any help, but when they grew older, the more help they needed in their life. This person desperately needed someone to help them get back on their feet again and they appreciated them that they were around. 

This song connects very well from the beginning to the end. In the first two stanzas, they explain that they are in extreme need of help and that when they were younger, they didn’t need any and those days were gone. In the rest of the song, they show appreciation for help and they feel that their independence has gone away because of their insecurities and need help more than ever. This person is in a huge crisis in his life where he needs lots of assistance. Something in their life has torn them down and they really need someone to get them back on their feet again.

Leave a Reply